La recherche dans une école d’art

The main focus of research at ECAV concerns questions linked to art in public spheres, examining this question in the context of factors that define the School’s geographical location: peripheral, outlying, close to the border, popular with tourists, alpine. The presence of a remarkable natural environment and the coexistence in a single location of diverse cultures and customs provide inspiration for the design of original forms of artistic experimentation and engagement with differentiated processes of theorization and thought.

The region of Sierre and the Valais canton more generally allow artistic research to focus on the particular context of somewhere far away from large urban centres; a place which for centuries has been characterised by remoteness and cultural marginalization but which, under the combined effects of migratory movements, tourism and the development of communication technologies has now renounced its isolation; an outlying place, to be sure, but richly interconnected nonetheless and open to the wider world, nourished by multiple inputs and exchanges. Here, different cultural identities circulate, interact, and sometimes put down roots, offering a dense, complex and ever-changing field of investigation for artists to explore and interrogate.

Added to this gradual densification and diversification of the social and human fabric is a remarkable landscape, a place where nature asserts its presence still today. Here researchers can find stillness favourable to reflexion, and artists the inspiration they need to design and test new visual structures and explore a shared approach to art.

ECAV therefore seeks to capitalize on its peripheral position and rekindle in contemporary form that which for centuries has been a privilege of outlying communities: space in which to conceive original forms of artistic experimentation, and time to invest in differentiated processes of theorization and thought. The dialogue established with institutes and researchers based in the same region also allows it to combine perspectives and bring artistic research into the realm of other disciplines (art & social work, art & therapy, art & cultural tourism).

To cement its place in the locality and the region, ECAV is naturally oriented towards artistic practices representative of cultures which, like itself, are peripheral and outlying. Over the years it has established an important network of renowned artists, art centres, recognized schools and research institutes with which it collaborates on a regular basis.

Through its artists in residence programme, the School welcomes artists and researchers from the southern hemisphere and remoter parts of the European continent. As well as improving the quality of teaching at Bachelor and Master level, this regular input allows locally relevant questions to be examined from external perspectives and points of view, be they geographically removed or simply original in their approach.

 

Responsable

Alain Antille

Chargé-e-s de recherche

Benoît Antille

Barnaby Drabble

Christophe Fellay

Robert Ireland

Petra Koehle

Jérôme Leuba

Eric Maeder

Federica Martini

Véronique Mauron

 

Collaboratrice scientifique-artistique

Maëlle Cornut

 

Assistantes de recherche

Meret Knobel

Laurence de Preux

Aurélie Strumans

La recherche dans une école d’art

L’Institut de recherche en art de l’ECAV se donne comme orientation prioritaire de recherche les questions liées à l’art dans l’espace public et choisit d’ancrer cette problématique dans le contexte de sa localisation géographique – position périphérique, décentrée, frontalière, touristique, alpine –. La présence d’un environnement naturel remarquable et la coexistence dans un même lieu de cultures et de pratiques diverses sont des sources d’inspiration pour concevoir des formes originales d’expérimentation artistique et pour engager des processus différenciés de théorisation et de pensée. 

L’Institut de recherche en art de l’ECAV entend ainsi questionner la relation de l’artiste à la sphère publique entendue comme espace naturel, social et culturel. Il se propose :

  • d’interroger la force du contexte et son influence sur la production artistique ;
  • de saisir la relation dialectique et critique qu’entretient un artiste avec un environnement donné ;
  • de mettre à l’épreuve des approches non-conventionnelles et pluridisciplinaires de questions liées à l’environnement naturel et socioculturel ;
  • de développer des projets d’intervention dans l’espace public.

La région de Sierre, plus généralement le Valais, permet de situer les enjeux d’une recherche artistique dans le contexte particulier d’un lieu à l’écart des grands centres urbains  ; un lieu longtemps marqué par la double empreinte de l’éloignement et de la marginalisation culturelle, mais qui, sous les effets conjugués des mouvements de migration, de l’essor du tourisme et du développement des technologies de communication, a rompu son isolement  ; un lieu certes décentré, mais néanmoins ouvert sur l’extérieur, richement interconnecté, et qui se nourrit d’apports et d’échanges multiples. Des identités culturelles de provenance diverse y circulent, s’y croisent, à l’occasion s’y installent, offrant à la pratique artistique un champ d’investigation dense, complexe, changeant, riche à interroger. 

A cette progressive densification et diversification du tissu social et humain s’ajoute un patrimoine paysager remarquable. Le chercheur y trouve le calme propice à la réflexion, l’artiste une source d’inspiration pour concevoir et tester de nouvelles propositions plastiques, inventer des dispositifs de partage de la démarche artistique.

L’ECAV entend ainsi valoriser sa position périphérique et réactiver sous une forme contemporaine ce qui fut longtemps un privilège des marges : à la fois l’espace pour concevoir des formes originales d’expérimentation artistique et le temps pour engager des processus différenciés de théorisation et de pensée. Le dialogue instauré avec des instituts et des chercheurs localisés dans la même région lui permet en outre de croiser les regards et de placer la recherche artistique dans le voisinage d’autres disciplines.

L’Institut de recherche en art de l’ECAV entend également affirmer sa vocation naturelle à faciliter le croisement des identités culturelles et mettre ses compétences artistiques au service du métissage des genres, du dépassement des frontières géographiques et mentales, sociales et disciplinaires.

L’Institut de recherche en art est membre du Réseau de Compétences Design et Arts visuels de la HES-SO (RCDAV) et du Swiss Art Research Network (SARN)

 

Responsable

Alain Antille

Chargé-e-s de recherche

Benoît Antille

Barnaby Drabble

Christophe Fellay

Robert Ireland

Petra Koehle

Jérôme Leuba

Eric Maeder

Federica Martini

Véronique Mauron

Sibylle Omlin

Assistants de recherche

Maëlle Cornut

Meret Knobel

Laurence de Preux

Aurélie Strumans