Bachelor en arts visuels


The programme is intended for students eager to accept the challenge of contemporary artistic production and situate it in a socio-cultural and political context, while at the same time gradually developing their own approach to the visual arts.

Recognised artists, actors on the cultural scene and theoreticians accompany students to help them ascertain and determine original creative paths.

During three years of study, students can conduct their research and experimentation through different artistic disciplines depending on their chosen orientations. Theoretical aspects of the course will allow them to acquire fundamental knowledge in the history of art, promote cross-disciplinary reflection, and develop a critical approach. 

Regular visits by guests from outside the School allow students’ experimental work to be placed in a national and international perspective.

The School’s outlying location prompts analogy with a laboratory – a space of research and experimentation – and offers students a prime site for concentration. Its small size makes for a highly flexible programme and allows personalised supervision.

The School is developing many partnerships abroad and promotes exchange programmes for its students.

The programme is part of the HES-SO Bachelor of Arts in Visual Arts. 

Career opportunities

The course leads to opportunities in the cultural and artistic field, in particular work as an independent artist, as well as teaching, the development of artistic projects and the curation of exhibitions. The Bachelor programme in visual arts can also be a first step to a Master in Visual Arts either at ECAV or another establishment.

Bachelor en arts visuels

Présentation

Le programme s’adresse à des personnes qui souhaitent se confronter aux enjeux de la production artistique contemporaine et qui se préoccupent de la situer dans un contexte socioculturel et politique, tout en étant amenés progressivement à développer leur propre démarche en arts visuels.

Des artistes confirmés ainsi que des acteurs culturels et des théoriciens accompagnent les étudiants afin de les aider à défricher et à définir des voies originales de création.

Durant trois années d’études, chaque étudiant pourra mener ses recherches et expérimentations au travers différentes disciplines artistiques selon les orientations de son choix, et la formation théorique va lui permettre d’acquérir des connaissances fondamentales en histoire de l’art, de favoriser une réflexion transdisciplinaire et de développer une approche critique. 

La venue régulière d'intervenants extérieurs place les expérimentations des étudiants dans une perspective nationale et internationale.

La position excentrée de l'école favorise une situation de laboratoire - espace de recherche et d'essai - et offre aux étudiants un lieu privilégié de concentration. Sa taille réduite, qui procure une gande flexibilité au programme, permet également d’y offrir un encadrement personnalisé.

L'Ecole développe de nombreux partenariats à l’étranger et promeut les programmes d'échange pour ses étudiants.

Le programme fait partie de l'offre bachelor en arts visuels de la HES-SO. 

Débouchés

La formation donne la possibilité de s’inscrire dans le champ culturel et artistiquenotamment dans les domaines de la pratique artistique indépendante, de l’enseignement, du développement de projets artistiques et du commissariat d’exposition. Le programme Bachelor en arts visuels peut aussi être une première étape vers un master en arts visuels à l’ECAV ou dans une autre école.