Artists in Residence

The Artists in Residence programme was created with the following specific objectives:


-to facilitate encounters and debates between artists from South and North on issues of cultural identity and socio-politic dimensions.

-to offer a platform for artistic research and creation in direct response to the geographical and social environment they experience in Sierre 

-to stimulate and accompany the conception and realization of innovative art projects

-to foster dialogue between artists and students at ECAV through the organization of workshops


Successful applicants have developped a substantial body of artistic work and critically explored basic questions such as: the place and the role of the artist in a contemporary society, and notions of space, including its cultural dimensions and in relation to urban, peri-urban and rural situations. 


Since 1998, more than 40 artists from Asia, Africa, South America and Europe have been invited to participate in the residency programme.


Invited artists

Antonio Nunez (Cuba); Ibrahim Miranda (Cuba); Lazzaro Saavedra (Cuba); Matthew Ngui (Singapore); I.C. Endaya (Philippines); Dadang Christanto (Indonesia); William Miko (Zambia); Diego Gutiérrez (Mexico); Sarah Wong (Hong Kong); Nunes Dos Santos (Brasil); Dora Longo Bahia (Brasil) Tsz-Kwan NG NG (Hong Kong); S. Charles Nkosi (South Africa); L. Miguel Suro (Mexico); Jo Ractliffe (South Africa); Mariana Bunimov (Venezuela); Babatunde Babalola (Niger); Joachim Schönfeldt (South Africa); Hanna K. le Roux (South Africa); Chi Wo Leung (Hong Kong); Gustavo Artigas (Mexico); Abrie Fourie (South Africa); Louise Cattrell (Scotland) José Davila (Mexico); Fatima Lasay (Philippines); Jaroslav Hulboj (Poland); Marcelo Brantes (Brazil); Johan Thom (South Africa); Zuzanna Janin (Poland); Marco Lora Read (Dominican Republic); Kgafela Magogodi (South Africa); Melinda Nadj Abonji (Swiss); Dorothee Kreutzfeldt (South Africa); Elisabeth Wong (China); Rana El Nemr (Egypt); Germaine Koh (Malaysia); Ruben Gutierrez (Mexico); Sylwia Gorak (Poland); Bridget Baker (South Africa); Mee Ping Leung (China); Ricardo Rivera (USA/Mexico)



The artists in residence programme is placed under patronage of the Swisss branch of Unesco and supported by the national antenna for the promotion of the arts in Switzerland, Pro Helvetia.